Author Topic: adopt or buy?  (Read 875 times)

Offline johnbltz

• Mood: Okay
  • SDC interest: curious
adopt or buy?
« on: September 18, 2017, 10:24:02 AM »
I'm searching for a labrador retriever as an esa, and I'm wondering what peoples' thought are on adoption vs buying. I'm leaning heavily towards adoption, I'd really rather give a homeless dog a good home. That said, I fly several times a year both for work and to go see my partner, so I'm a little concerned about ensuring any dog has the right temperament. With a breeder, I know that the dog doesn't have some breed mixed in that might make them less amenable to being around people, especially in a crowded and cramped airplane. I also worry that training an adopted dog could be significantly more difficult than a puppy, whose environment and training I can control from the get go. This is especially important as I'm new to this kind of training.

Am I overthinking this? Does anyone have experience with training an adopted dog?

Offline OlgatheGSD

• Loquacious Member
  • Michelle and Olga
  • Mood: Brain fog
  • SDC interest: owner-trainer
Re: adopt or buy?
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2017, 10:42:08 AM »
I am training my adopted dog! The thing with puppies is that you never really know what you're going to be getting as an adult. A lot of dogs gain fearful tendencies once their enter adulthood, so you could have a perfectly happy go lucky puppy from the start and end up with a fear biter. Think of it as a toddler growing into an adult. Sure, you can control a lot of their environment, but as they get older they will learn things on their own and they may turn into a completely different person.

I prefer adopting for a lot of reasons. It saves a dog. You know what you're getting (I highly suggest a trainer). It saves you a ton of money. There's no potty training. Vaccines and neuter/spay are all done. You're supporting a rescue or humane society. You're temperament over breed.