Author Topic: Best SDIT/Service dog prospect raising tips!  (Read 1072 times)

Offline RealmOfMyImagination

• Loquacious Member
  • Always In a Brain Fog
  • Mood: Brain fog
  • SDC interest: owner-trainer
Best SDIT/Service dog prospect raising tips!
« on: April 07, 2017, 04:32:04 PM »
This is my first time intentionally raising a puppy for being a service dog, I am waiting for all shots to do more out of the house/yard stuff (parvo is bad this year around here)

I have been managing training simple stuff here and there and of course at the vet hes been exposed to all that however our last experience didn't go too well as we had him microchipped and it fell out so it was two jabs he had to do :sad:

I've been reading here and there on stuff people do but what are your favorite raising tips?  I have a raising guide I think Ariel posted a few years ago which has helped a lot but I'm curious what you guys usually do!
🐾 Humphrey -  German Shepherd Service dog prospect 🐾

Offline Ariel

• Scruffmaster Extraordinaire
  • Old Timer
  • Mood: Cynical
  • SDC interest: SD partner
Re: Best SDIT/Service dog prospect raising tips!
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2017, 04:48:29 PM »
Tethering! If not on a drag line in your hand or leash tethered to you, in a crate. This umbilical technique allows you to have eyes on puppy at all times and redirect them to do a positive behavior before they are allowed to perform a negative behavior. This way they practice positive skills instead of negative ones and are not having to be corrected for avoidable mistakes. Easier to housebreak, easier to teach leash walking, self control, recall, everything. SO useful! I cannot highly enough recommend tethering! Jubilee was tethered for around 2 months from when she came home at 12 weeks until almost 5 months.
Jubilee - Service Dog - German Wirehaired Pointer
Jubi's FB page!
In Loving Memory of Service Dog Saxon (6/5/13-12/2/15)

• Loquacious Member
  • Always In a Brain Fog