Author Topic: Puppy Raising in High School?  (Read 1209 times)

Offline AdventurousEquestrian

• Mood: I'm manic please excuse uncharacteristic behavior
  • SDC interest: puppy raiser
Puppy Raising in High School?
« on: February 25, 2017, 08:49:54 PM »
I'm really new to the whole puppy raising scene. I want to raise a puppy during either Sophomore or Junior year (I'm a freshman) with Guide Dogs for the Blind, but my entire family isn't totally convinced. Has anyone raised a puppy during high school? What was it like? How did your parents manage it, especially with work? I really want to make this happen, but my mom is... difficult, to say the least. She doesn't agree with my training methods for my pet dogs, how is she going to support a puppy, especially with all of the regulations? My dad is on board 100%, but my mom won't even try and train my pet dogs to stop their barking, much less learn how to properly treat a puppy in training.  :closedeyes:

Offline Kirsten

• Administrator
  • Have a flufftastic day!
  • Mood: Okay
  • SDC interest: owner-trainer
Re: Puppy Raising in High School?
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2017, 09:11:40 PM »
You'd need to talk to the program about their requirements of puppy raisers, but generally they're going to want one responsible person to be home with the puppy during the day.  They don't want pup crated or penned for long periods.  That someone is going to be responsible for supervising pup to prevent them from toileting inside the home and that takes a lot of concentration and can interfere with doing other things.  Since you'll be at school for a big chunk of the day, that responsibility would probably fall to one of your parents during that time.